J.D. Barker

  • Le quatrième singe

    J.D. Barker

    • City
    • 29 Mai 2019

    Depuis cinq ans, «  le tueur aux quatre signes  » terrorise les habitants de Chicago. Quand il enlève ses victimes, avant de les tuer, il informe toujours la famille en lui envoyant de macabres indices. D'abord il y a une oreille, puis un oeil et enfin la langue.

    Mais cette fois, le scénario est différent car le tueur est mort alors qu'il allait juste poster la première oreille. Sa victime, la fille d'un magnat de l'immobilier, reste introuvable. Il ne reste que quelques jours avant qu'elle ne meure de soif ou ne se vide de son sang.

    Avec sept femmes tuées en cinq ans, l'inspecteur Porter refuse d'échouer une nouvelle fois. Mais il réalise rapidement que, même depuis sa tombe, le «  tueur aux quatre singes  » tient encore en main des cartes maîtresses...


    «  L'un des meilleurs romans de ces dernières années  ». (James Patterson)

  • The fifth to die

    J.D. Barker

    ''J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that''s a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don''t miss anything J.D. writes.'' James Patterson Murder. It''s a family affair. In the midst of one of the worst winters Chicago has seen in years, the body of missing teenager Ella Reynolds is discovered under the surface of a frozen lake. She''s been missing for three weeks... the lake froze over three months ago. Detective Sam Porter and his team are brought in to investigate but it''s not long before another girl goes missing. The press believes the serial killer, Anson Bishop, has struck again but Porter knows differently. The deaths are too different, there''s a new killer on the loose. Porter however is distracted. He''s still haunted by Bishop and his victims, even after the FBI have removed him from the case. His only leads: a picture of a female prisoner and a note from Bishop: ''Help me find my mother. I think it''s time she and I talked.'' As more girls go missing and Porter''s team race to stop the body count rising, Porter disappears to track down Bishop''s mother and discover that the only place scarier than the mind of a serial killer is the mind of the mother from which he came. Perfect for fans of Helen Fields, Val McDermid and Jo Nesbo this gripping and twisted thriller will have you wondering, how do you stop a killer when he''s been trained from birth? Praise for The Fifth to Die : ''J.D. Barker is a one-of-a-kind writer and that''s a rare and special thing. Stephen King comes to mind and Lee Child, John Sanford. All one-of-a-kinds. Don''t miss anything J.D. writes.'' James Patterson ''Superbly paced, beautifully constructed evocation of evil'' Daily Mail ''A gritty thriller that gets right under your skin'' HEAT ''Chillingly written'' Woman ''Barker spins a serpentine and sometimes gruesome tale... Sparse and cinematic, the pages fly by.'' Press Association

  • Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs in this dark and twisting novel from the author Jeffery Deaver called, “A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind.” For over five years, the Four Monkey Killer has terrorized the residents of Chicago. When his body is found, the police quickly realize he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive. As the lead investigator on the 4MK task force, Detective Sam Porter knows even in death, the killer is far from finished. When he discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath, unraveling a twisted history in hopes of finding one last girl, all while struggling with personal demons of his own. With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer’s identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the Four Monkey Killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller.

  • 1868. Bram Stoker, vingt et un ans, est reclus dans une tour, confronté à un mal indescriptible. Écrivant sans relâche, il narre les événements qui l'ont conduit jusqu'ici...
    Enfant maladif, Bram grandit à Dublin. Ellen Crone, sa nourrice, prend soin de lui - à sa manière... Quand une série de morts surprenantes se produit dans une ville voisine, Bram et sa soeur, Matilda, constatent l'étrange comportement d'Ellen. Le mystère s'épaissit de façon terrifiante jusqu'au jour où leur nanny disparaît brusquement.
    Des années plus tard, Matilda révèle à son frère qu'elle a aperçu Ellen à Paris... Le cauchemar ne fait que commencer.

  • The prequel to Dracula , inspired by notes and texts left behind by the author of the classic novel, Dracul is a supernatural thriller that reveals not only Draculas true origins but Bram Stokers--and the tale of the enigmatic woman who connects them. It is 1868, and a twenty-one-year-old Bram Stoker waits in a desolate tower to face an indescribable evil. Armed only with crucifixes, holy water, and a rifle, he prays to survive a single night, the longest of his life. Desperate to record what he has witnessed, Bram scribbles down the events that led him here... A sickly child, Bram spent his early days bedridden in his parents' Dublin home, tended to by his caretaker, a young woman named Ellen Crone. When a string of strange deaths occur in a nearby town, Bram and his sister Matilda detect a pattern of bizarre behavior by Ellen--a mystery that deepens chillingly until Ellen vanishes suddenly from their lives. Years later, Matilda returns from studying in Paris to tell Bram the news that she has seen Ellen--and that the nightmare they've thought long ended is only beginning.

  • The prequel to Dracula , inspired by notes and texts left behind by the author of the classic novel, Dracul is a supernatural thriller that reveals not only Draculas true origins but Bram Stokers--and the tale of the enigmatic woman who connects them. It is 1868, and a twenty-one-year-old Bram Stoker waits in a desolate tower to face an indescribable evil. Armed only with crucifixes, holy water, and a rifle, he prays to survive a single night, the longest of his life. Desperate to record what he has witnessed, Bram scribbles down the events that led him here... A sickly child, Bram spent his early days bedridden in his parents' Dublin home, tended to by his caretaker, a young woman named Ellen Crone. When a string of strange deaths occur in a nearby town, Bram and his sister Matilda detect a pattern of bizarre behavior by Ellen--a mystery that deepens chillingly until Ellen vanishes suddenly from their lives. Years later, Matilda returns from studying in Paris to tell Bram the news that she has seen Ellen--and that the nightmare they've thought long ended is only beginning.

empty