Livres en V.O

  • A Time of Conflict. It is 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages, and England linces attacks tiers the Welsh in the west and the Vikings in the east. Life is hard, and those with power wield it harshly, bendii. justice according to their will - often in conflict with the monarchy. With the king's grip on the country fragile and with no clear rule of law, chaos and bloodshed reign. Three Lives Intertwined.
    Into this sucerioin world three people come to the fore : a young boatbuilder, who dreams of a hetter future when a devastating Viking raid shatters the life that he and the woman he loves hoped for ; a Norman noblewoman, who follows her beloved husband across the sea to a new land only to find her life there shockingly different ; an. a capable monk ar Shiring Abbey, who dreams transforming his humble home into a centre of learning admired throughout Europe.
    The Dawn of a New Age. Now, with England ar the dawn of the Middle Ages, these three people will each come into dangerous conflict with a ruthless bishop, who will do anything to increase his wealth and pawn in ins epic tale of ambition and rivalry, death and birth, and love and hate. Thirty years ago we were introduced to Kingsbridge in The Pillars of the Earth, and now in this masterful prequel international bestseller Ken Follett will take us on a journey into a rich past, which will en where his masterpiece begins.

  • A lush debut novel , Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose . It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain- you can feel it in the pages . A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

  • EXPECTATION

    Anna Hope

    Profoundly intelligent and humane. Deserves to feature on many a prize shortlist' GUARDIAN 'A brilliant exploration of friendship, feminism and thwarted ambition' PANDORA SYKES 'If you wished Normal People had tackled female friendship, try Expectation' GRAZIA ______________________ What happened to the women we were supposed to become?

    Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry - and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.

    Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?

    The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year, EXPECTATION is a novel about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel.

    FOR FANS OF SALLY ROONEY, DIANA EVANS, DOLLY ALDERTON, ELIZABETH DAY AND FLEABAG ___________________ 'Thoughtful, beautifully written, honest. A sensual book. I URGE YOU TO READ IT' MARIAN KEYES 'Beautiful, sharp, moving. I urge you to read it'' ELIZABETH DAY 'Will resonate with approximately 99% of women' RED MAGAZINE summer pick 'One of the most intensely readable novels this year' METRO 'One of our most gifted contemporary writers' WATERSTONES 'The story of 3 college friends, if you're a fan of Sally Rooney, you'll love EXPECTATION' IRISH EXAMINER 'A must-read' FABULOUS MAGAZINE 'Exceptional.. I highly recommend it' STACEY HALLS 'A generation-defining book on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like Normal People with female friendship under the microscope.' ERIN KELLY 'Jaw-droppingly good' SARRA MANNING 'SO GOOD. A 'What they did next' story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel' SARAH FRANKLIN 'Few novels leave me so genuinely breathless with their brilliance' HANNAH BECKERMAN 'The perfect summer reading' STYLIST 'Sublime' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING 'Dark, relatable, elegant' LIZA KLAUSSMANN 'Intimate and touching' NINA POTTELL 'A marvellously tangy London novel' DAILY MAIL 'A grown-up, honest take on female camaraderie. Packed with talking points' MAIL ON SUNDAY 'Hugely absorbing, massively enjoyable' LISSA EVANS 'An observant look at the complexities of modern female friendships' I-NEWSPAPER 'Perceptive, intelligent, bittersweet, and beautifully written' BOOKBRUNCH

  • Kafka meets The Thick Of It in a bitingly funny new political satire from Ian McEwan That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a gigantic creature. Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his previous life he was ignored or loathed, but in his new incarnation he is the most powerful man in Britain - and it is his mission to carry out the will of the people. Nothing must get in his way: not the opposition, nor the dissenters within his own party. Not even the rules of parliamentary democracy.

  • IT - FILM TIE IN

    Stephen King

    NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE - Stephen King's terrifying classic. 'They float ... and when you're down here with me, you'll float, too.' Derry, Maine is just an ordinary town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part, a good place to live. It is a group of children who see - and feel - what makes Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurks, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one's deepest dread. Sometimes is appears as an evil clown named Pennywise and sometimes IT reaches up, seizing, tearing, killing . . . Time passes and the children grow up, move away and forget. Until they are called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirs and coils in the sullen depths of their memories, emerging again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.

  • Every summer, the Cazalet brothers, Hugh, Edward and Rupert, return to the family home in the heart of the Sussex countryside with their wives and children. There, they are joined by their parents and unmarried sister Rachel to enjoy two blissful months of picnics and childish games. But despite the idyllic setting, nothing can be done to soothe the siblings' heartache: Hugh is haunted by the ravages of war, Edward by his latest infidelity and Rupert by his inability to please his demanding wife. Meanwhile, Rachel risks losing her only chance at happiness because of her unflinching loyalty to the family. Howard's beautiful saga is the story of three generations of the Cazalet family. Their relatives, their children and their servants - and the fascinating triangle of their affairs . . . The Light Years is the first novel in Elizabeth Jane Howard's bestselling five-part series.

  • The Republic of Gilead offers Offred only one option : to breed. If she deviates, she will, like all dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire - neither Offred's nor that of the two men on whom her future hangs.

  • silent spring

    Rachel Carson

  • moon palace

    Paul Auster

    A contemporary novel which tells the story of Marco Stanley Fogg - orphan, child of the 1960s - spanning three generations. The narrative moves from the early years of this century to the first lunar landings, from Manhattan to the landscape of the American West.

  • Growing up in the home of a cruel aunt and a harsh charity school, Jane Eyre, an orphaned young woman, accepts employment as a governess at Thornfield Hall and soon finds herself in love with her employer, the enigmatic Rochester. Reprint. 17,500 first printing.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • A novel that features a mixed group of characters, each in his or her own way seeking some sort of salvation or redemption. It talks about the plot: how the US government and some of its quasi-autonomous agencies (CIA, FBI, DEA) all for their own reasons sponsored and financed the development of the drug cartels and their trade in Mexico.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • WHITE

    Bret Easton Ellis

    B>The controversial Sunday Times bestseller./b>br>b>/b>br>b>Candid, fearless and provocative /b>b>-/b>b> the author of American Psycho on who he is and what he thinks is wrong with the world today. /b> Bret Easton Ellis is most famous for his era-defining novel American Psycho and its terrifying anti-hero, Patrick Bateman. With that book, and many times since, Ellis proved himself to be one of the world's most fearless and clear-sighted observers of society - the glittering surface and the darkness beneath.In White, his first work of non-fiction, Ellis offers a wide-ranging exploration of what the hell is going on right now. He tells personal stories from his own life. He writes with razor-sharp precision about the music, movies, books and TV he loves and hates. He examines the ways our culture, politics and relationships have changed over the last four decades. He talks about social media, Hollywood celebrities and Donald Trump. Ellis considers conflicting positions without flinching and adheres to no status quo. His forthright views are powered by a fervent belief in artistic freedom and freedom of speech. Candid, funny, entertaining and blisteringly honest, he offers opinions that are impossible to ignore and certain to provoke. What he values above all is the truth. 'The culture at large seemed to encourage discourse,' he writes, 'but what it really wanted to do was shut down the individual.' Bret Easton Ellis will not be shut down.

  • 'The Fellowship of the Ring' is the first part of JRR Tolkien's epic masterpiece 'The Lord of the Rings'. This paperback edition has the classic black cover featuring Tolkien's own design and includes the definitive edition of the text.

  • Dans les années 1920, le jeune Nick Carraway emménage à Long Island. Dans cette banlieue très huppée de New-York, un nom est sur toutes les lèvres : Jay Gatsby. Cet homme richissime organise les soirées les plus somptueuses et les plus extravagantes des alentours, réunissant des centaines de convives et faisant rêver tout le voisinage. Les plus folles rumeurs circulent sur Jay Gatsby et les origines de sa fortune. Mais qui est-il vraiment et pourquoi organise-t-il ces gigantesques réceptions ? Désireux de le découvrir, Nick se glisse parmi les invités dans l'espoir d'approcher cet hôte secret et percer le mystère qui l'entoure.
      Le chef d'oeuvre de Fitzgerald nous plonge dans les années folles pour conter une histoire d'amour annonciatrice de l'échec du rêve américain.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Dans la campagne espagnole, une jeune fille, contrainte d'épouser un homme qu'elle n'aime pas, s'enfuit avec son amant le jour de ses noces. Le jeune marié se lance à leur poursuite... Inspirée d'un tragique fait divers, la pièce Noces de sang, chef-d'oeuvre dramatique, allie toute la beauté de la poésie d'inspiration gitane au classicisme de la langue espagnole.

  • «La zapatera prodigiosa es una farsa simple, de puro tono clásico, donde se describe un espíritu de mujer... y se hace, al mismo tiempo y de manera tierna, un apólogo del alma humana... Yo quise expresar en mi Zapatera... la lucha de la realidad con la fantasía (entendiendo por fantasía todo lo que es irrealizable) que existe en toda criatura... No hay más personaje que ella y la masa del pueblo que la circunda con un cinturón de espinas y carcajadas... Lo más característico de esta simple farsa es el ritmo de la escena, ligado y vivo, y la intervención de la música que me sirve para desrealizar la escena y quitar a la gente la idea de que 'aquello está pasando de veras', así como también para elevar el plano poético con el mismo sentido que lo hacían nuestros clásicos», Federico García Lorca. Joaquín Forradellas ofrece en esta edición un texto crítico, enriquecido con documentos que lo contextualizan y analizado desde varias perspectivas que permiten una lectura de La zapatera prodigiosa sobre el trasfondo de todo el teatro lorquiano.

  • Ruhm

    Daniel Kehlmann

empty